Welcome

 

I am a writer who helps others tell their stories. My family is from Odessa and Moscow, and I am from berries and tea and poetry.

Is your child struggling with the quarantine? Deep reading and creative writing lessons for children are now available online. Click here for more information.

My book A Life Replaced  (Poets & Traitors, 2019) braids together poems on immigration in America with translations from Anna Akhmatova and our contemporary Vladimir Gandelsman, winner of Russia's highest award for poetry, the Moscow Reckoning. Many poems are responses to these two voices; some are stand-alone works. The foreword is by Ilya Kaminsky. Read reviews in the Los Angeles Review of BooksReading in Translationand, soon to come, Slavic and East European Journal. 

These are trying times. I co-organize the reading series on immigration called "From Across the Waters" with Julia Kolchinsky Dasbach. For more information about "From Across the Waters," please feel free to write me at olga@olgalivshin.com

And to stay in touch, please feel free to subscribe to my newsletter.

Welcome, and enjoy your stay!

Readings & Events

 

Voices on the Move: 
An Anthology by and about Refugees launch, October 23, 2020 04:30 PM EST / 1:30 PM PST
Reading with Janet Sylvester at Gibson's Bookstore (New Hampshire). November 12 at 7 PM Eastern Time. Janet has a gorgeous book of poems out, And Not to Break, this year; I'm celebrating the one-year anniversary of A Life Replaced. Registration: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/127176924605
Translating the Immigrant Experience in Our Times: Vladimir Gandelsman. DC-ALT Literary Translator Lecture Series, November 15, at 4PM EST / 1PM PST. Registration: bit.ly/dcalt1115
Letting in the Light: Poets Speak Out Against Fear & Hatred, December 3, 7PM EST / 4PM PST.   Registration: bit.ly/BlessedBeTheLight 

To find out more, follow me on social media at @olgalivshin.

​FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2019 by Olga Livshin